Home » Who were the Cambridge Platonists?

Who were the Cambridge Platonists?

The core members of the group were Benjamin Whichcote (1609-83), Ralph Cudworth ( 1617-88), Henry More (1614-87), Peter Sterry (1613-1672), John Smith (1618-1652) and Nathaniel Culverwell (1619-1651). Others associated with them were John Worthington (1618-1671), George Rust (d. 1670), Anne Conway (1630-1679) and John Norris (1657-1711). See Cambridge Platonists at Cambridge Colleges for a fuller list of their associates (written for the project by Marilyn A. Lewis). For reading lists of primary and secondary sources relating to Cambridge Platonism, please click on our Bibliography pages.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: